Dear folks,

I changed the title of the blog from “We Make the Road By Walking” to “With Great Rejoicing!” in order to be more inclusive.  I was thinking to myself, “Hey now wait a second!  Not everybody walks in this world- some of us wheel about!”  So, my thanks to all the liberation theology I am reading, which stresses that the language we use shapes what is normative in our culture (who really likes normative anyway?).  

The previous blog title used walking as a metaphor, from Antonio Machado’s “Proverbios y cantares XXIX” in Campos de Castilla.

Wanderer, your footsteps are

the road, and nothing more;

wanderer, there is no road,

the road is made by walking.

By walking one makes the road,

and upon glancing behind

one sees the path

that never will be trod again.

Wanderer, there is no road–

Only wakes upon the sea.

**************************

Caminante, son tus huellas

el camino, y nada más;

caminante, no hay camino,

se hace camino al andar.

Al andar se hace camino,

y al volver la vista atrás

se ve la senda que nunca

se ha de volver a pisar.

Caminante, no hay camino,

sino estelas en la mar.

 

The idea is that we are in a process that is utterly mysterious- so mysterious that the road is not even a road, it is the unfathomable sea tracked by our wake.  Postmodern liberation theologians tell me that, even though this is a beautiful metaphor, I do better by my brothers and sisters by being more accessible with my language.  So, change it is!

