I have been thinking about being a Welcoming Congregation and how it is an ongoing process. I hear stories that some worried we would become a gay church by making the commitment of being a Welcoming Congregation.

And I say, “Bring it on!” I would love for us to be a gay church.

I want to share with you a blog post from my colleague in Providence, RI, the Rev. James Ishmael Ford:

HOW TO BECOME A GAY CHURCH: A Call to a New Age in Spiritual Community

In the end, he takes the congregation through a journey of repentance. We cannot deny the pain and suffering our gay/lesbian/bi and trans brothers and sisters. And in Southwest Florida it is rough. Imagine being a queer high school youth in these parts. Imagine being raised thinking you were unnatural and hell-bound.

When I think of those kids in junior high and high school, I know that I want us to be a gay church.

