pride-2007-castro-rainbow-flag

I just got back from the Southwest Florida Gay and Lesbian Chorus performance “80 Spectacular Years of Disney,” and my face hurts from smiling so much.  As someone who is often up on a platform putting myself & my energy out there, it is so nourishing to be in the seats receiving the energy from others.

And what better group that the Gay and Lesbian Chorus?  Here is a group that sings with heart and feeling.  Until now I had no idea Disney songs could be so cool.  Perhaps it is also the context.  Hearing the song, “Someday My Prince Will Come” replete with song and dance from some fine male basses & tenors was utterly fabulous.  The song “Beautiful” reminded me of the ethos of gay and lesbian pride that says- you are beautiful! you are loved!

Maybe my schmaltzy centers are activated because this is the group that gave their time and talent to sing at my ordination.  Maybe it’s because it’s pride month and I myself am deeply proud of the gathering energy in Lee County that can bring us closer to justice for us/ our LGBTQ brothers and sisters.  But mostly, it’s because each person in the chorus let their light shine, gave the best of what they had- their authentic selves.  This is such a huge part of what gay pride is about- being who you are and shining that loving light onto others.

I want to publicly thank this fine, dedicated group for bringing so much fun and joy to our community! I love you all!

